"Introductory" Dimotika CD recommendations (English)

I’m a musician (USA) and listen to a lot of different musics. I like Greek music too,what I’ve heard, but I’m that that knowledgable about it and the various musicians/groups.

I have the handful of the Rounder rembetika compilations, and some other things by estabished names (Tsitsanis). However, I don’t know what to even look for in regards to dimotika.

Does anyone have any recommendations for 5-10 “must have” Greek folk music recordings? Any input is appreciated.

Thank you.

University of Crete has published a series of CDs followed by whole books of explanations and details regarding the songs that each part contains. I recommend them! Those are good not only because of the songs they include. You can find nice songs in several CDs. But those ones include a lot of details, even the tabs of each song and all of them, both in Greek and English. (in the publication for the region of Thrace, the book is “fatter” than both the two CDs together that it comes with)

Further, if you are looking just for names, note:

Hronis Aidonidis and Kariofilis Doitsidis for Thrace
Nitsa Tsitra and Xanthippi Karathanasi for Macedonia
Halkias family for Epirus
Karabesini, Sarri and Konitopoulos family for the islands
Domna Samiou for Minor Asia (she is also a researcher and you will find her name in a lot of works)

and and and…where to start from and where to stop.

In general, try to avoid titles such as “greek glenti” or “athanata tragoudia” or CDs that include more than 20 songs. They are very suspicious to be “rough-and-ready” recordings (most times they will be the cheapest ones) Also avoid titles that specific names appear to be the composers or the lyricists of the songs.

For any special info, always here…